top of page
  • Writer's picture~I

Day 5

Oil Lamp


We all rely, on a flicker of light,

Be heaven, be heart, be hope.

Glimmer, glow, glitter or gold,

Our dreary lives- we cope.


The one I know to be my brace,

An oil lamp or a friend.

Not a fire, but not a flicker,

Free to learn, lean and depend.


Unfazed by wind or water alike,

She glistens; forever ablaze.

She grew, she changed, not shy of pain,

To the draft, at most she swayed.


In a haze of smoke, a tear was shed,

In sunlight, laughter heard.

In cafes, into the deep abyss,

Being, exist, absurd.


This lamp, I hope burns as bright,

For as long as the clay can bear.

If afraid, if flail, if in need of aid,

Know there's light, I will gladly share...


54 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Day 25

Day 17

Day 13

bottom of page